top of page
  • valspopculturetalk

Q & A with Miami City Ballet dancer Isadora Valero and her journey to Juliet

Updated: Jul 3, 2023


Isadora Valero and Brooks Landegger rehearse Romeo and Juliet choreography by John Cranko. © Alexander Iziliaev.

Growing up in Venezuela, Isadora Valero began dancing at eight years old at Academia de Ballet Clásico Nina Novak. She performed as a soloist with Ballet Teresa Carreño and competed at The USA International Ballet Competition, Youth America Grand Prix, and Korea International Ballet Competition qualifying as a finalist.


After being awarded a scholarship to the School of the Hamburg Ballet, she trained in Germany and joined the Hamburg Ballet Company under the direction of John Neumeier in 2010. Two years later, she worked with Northern Ballet and David Nixon in the United Kingdom.


Valero became a member of the National Ballet of Portugal where she performed principal roles in ballets such as The Sleeping Beauty, George Balanchine’s Serenade and Eric Volodine’s Don Quixote. Now, she takes the stage as Juliet in Miami City Ballet's rendition of Shakespeare's classic tale.


1. What makes this version of Romeo and Juliet by Miami City Ballet unique?

"There are a couple iconic versions of R&J around the world and John Cranko’s is one of them. You can tell he hugely influenced the versions that came afterwards. He really made words become dance in a very human and beautiful way."


2. What has the experience been like working on Romeo and Juliet and learning from Filip Barankiewicz?


"Filip was a fantastic coach, specially his partnering skills. He also brought all his wisdom and experiences into the studios, precious anecdotes about the choreographer, the original dancers and the creation process."


Isadora Valero and Brooks Landegger work on John Cranko's Romeo and Juliet with repetiteur Filip Barankiewicz. © Alexander Iziliaev

3. How would you describe the choreography?


"I think R&J demands a real emotional surrender process. This version specially asks for a natural and honest development of the character. Layering and putting this together to very challenging and technical pas de deuxs is a real work."

4. What scene of Romeo and Juliet is your favorite to perform?


"The entire ballet has a smooth and wonderful progression and every scene has something special. The balcony part is so accelerating, the bedroom duet is heartfelt, and the final scene at the crypt is so powerful and the music just extraordinary."

5. What does it mean to you to portray Juliet?


"Juliet is an emotional ride, like the intense teenage years of life. It was a dream role to me and therefore I enjoy every second of this journey. I read and listen to the play, I watch all the movies and all different versions of the ballet, I did research internally and externally, and I am still discovering new details through every rehearsal and performance."

6. What is the message you hope audiences leave Romeo and Juliet with?


"Live life and love to the fullest."

7.When did you start dancing? Was there a particular performance/ballet that inspired you?


"I started dancing in my mothers womb for sure! And I started ballet when I was 8 years old. When I was a child my parents would take me to watch all the ballets the Ballet Teatro Teresa Carreño would perform and I would always be inspired by them."


8.What was the most challenging aspect going from dancing as a student to joining your first company?


"I was lucky to join Hamburg Ballet after I graduated from their school. I had perform with the company in many productions as a student so it was a familiar environment when I joined. I guess that made it easier but I still got to prove myself and most importantly find myself, find what made me special and unique."

9. How do your responsibilities change when you are performing as part of the corps de ballet to when you are performing as the lead role?


"I believe working in a ballet company is a real teamwork effort and no matter what part you are performing is as important. I do believe with great roles come great responsibilities. As a lead dancer, you have to be able to carry the story through the entire performance, as well as being able to manage your body and stamina in an efficient way."

10. How did your training in Germany prepare you for your role in the company today?

"There are many things that made me the professional and person I am today and my years in Germany are definitely very important in my life. I think working with John Neumeier gave me the tools I needed to truly enjoy this ballet."


11. What was your favorite part of living and training in the UK?

"My UK phase was extremely interesting as ballet in England is so huge and the standards are very high. I learned a lot in those years and had the opportunity to work alongside great artists."

12. What is your most memorable moment in your career?

"When John Neumeier offered me a contract with the Hamburg Ballet on stage, after a performance. Also, when I worked with Marcelino Sambe at the Royal Opera House preparing Sleeping Beauty to be performed in Lisbon as my premiere with The National Ballet of Portugal and performing Romeo and Juliet as my premiere with Miami City Ballet."


Photo courtesy of Miami City Ballet.

25 views0 comments
bottom of page