top of page
  • valspopculturetalk

Actress Jamie Perez on becoming Invisi-Girl for Netflix's We Can Be Heroes

Updated: Aug 21, 2021


Photo: @jamie.m.perez on Instagram


New Jersey native and professional actress, Jamie Perez recalls her earliest memories of Robert Rodriguez films were watching The Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl. She could have never imagined that years later, she would be cast as Invisible Girl in Robert Rodriguez’s latest film, We Can Be Heroes.


“I remember even working on set with Lavagirl, Taylor Dooley. I was like ‘Oh my gosh you were my childhood heroes this is incredible. At the time I was so young to even understand, all I saw was this magical movie that was made for kids... it was a surreal feeling,” she said.


Perez started off as a model at the age of 13. However when she was 19, she realized it wasn’t her passion. Upon the suggestion of an actor she met at a photoshoot, she decided to try acting and knew it was what she wanted to do. As an actress, one of the challenges she faced was rejection. She used to audition in New York and admits there was a lot of competition.


“They didn’t want somebody who was my color complexion or my hair type. Those were some of the bumps along the way that kind of kept me from getting to where I am at. I was doing a lot of free work because I just wanted to gain the experience,” she said.


Once she moved to Texas she was able to do more auditions and book more work. At her audition for We Can Be Heroes, she initially read for the role of the reporter in the movie. A month later, Perez got the call from her agent saying that the director, Robert Rodriguez, loved her audition.


“He didn’t only want to bring me on but he wanted to bring me on as Invisi-Girl because they had already cast Noodles, Lyon Daniels. It just happened to be that I looked like his mom,” she said.


Photo: @jamie.m.perez on Instagram


Perez would be one of the superheroes in the ultimate team. Her superpower is invisibility and her son, Noodles has extreme flexibility. That was all Perez knew about the project and casting news of the Heroes was kept top secret. She was only aware of rumors that the original Lavagirl was returning for the film.


In fact, she found out who was playing each role on her first day of shooting when she got the call sheet. Perez saw she would be starring opposite Priyanka Chopra Jonas, Christian Slater, Pedro Pascal, Brittany Perry Russell, Quinton Johnson, Boyd Holbrook, Haley Reinhart, and Sung Kang, and her reaction was of immense happiness.


“When I went for my fitting, there were pictures on the wall of all the Heroics, our mini heroes. I saw Noodles and I said 'oh my goodness he really does look like me.' I didn’t even know what he looked like yet,” she said.


Jamie Perez, Invisible Girl, and Lyon Daniels, Noodles. Photo: @jamie.m.perez on Instagram


Having a child of her own, Jamie Perez loved getting to act with the Heroics, the children of the Heroes. She enjoyed the chemistry of working with kids because they were always having fun and was constantly inspired by their work ethic as they did their own stunts, shot scenes, and did schoolwork.


As for working with Pedro Pascal, Perez notes that he’s a regular guy, cool and down to earth. Although he is one of the best actors in the game right now, he is super nice and talented. She was always paying a lot of attention to details on how he did his work and his scenes


Pedro Pascal as Marcus Moreno and Jamie Perez as Invisi-Girl behind the scenes. Photo: @jamie.m.perez on Instagram


She took the whole filming experience in like a sponge while working with all of the cast. The flying scene was her favorite to film as Invisi-Girl. It was her first time being on a harness and in true superhero fashion, the crew had an AC blower to make her hair blow in the wind. Another standout scene for her was the banter scene with Ms. Vox (Haley Reinhart) and Red Lightning Fury (Brittany Perry Russell).


“We just had so much fun having to try and choreograph that part. We had to do that so many times so every time I see that scene I remember that,” she said.

Jamie Perez as Invisi-Girl, Haley Reinhart as Ms. Vox, Brittany Perry Russell as Red Lightning Fury, and Taylor Dooley as Lavagirl. Photo: @jamie.m.perez on Instagram


Working with Robert Rodriguez, Perez was in shock because he is the biggest director she has worked with to date. Prior to that, she’s worked with some directors that are demanding and affirmative with the way they give instruction. With Rodriguez it was the complete opposite, he was nice, relaxed and friendly.


“Robert surprised me because you read about this extraordinary person like Robert Rodriguez, a creative genius. Then you meet him and he’s the humblest guy you could ever meet. He’s just so sweet and soft spoken. He’ll come and talk to you like he’s talking to a family member,” she said.


Director Robert Rodriguez and Jamie Perez. Photo: @jamie.m.perez on Instagram


Rodriguez is known for his groundbreaking films from Desperado to Spy Kids. He has challenged stereotypes in Hollywood and champions diversity in his movies. When filming the scenes for We Can Be Heroes, Perez loved the script and she could not have imagined the impact the film would have.

“I did not know the movie was going to have this amount of impact. Even yesterday when we broke the record. I called my mom crying because I didn't know. I knew it was going to do great, it’s Robert Rodriguez. I didn’t know it was going to do this good. I’m still in shock,” she said.


Once she started seeing things being put together, she knew it would be a very special and unique project. One example of it’s many powerful messages is the character Wheels. Even though he’s in a wheelchair, it’s because of his strength that his bones aren’t able to support him.


“Before I booked We Can Be Heroes, I remember asking God I just want to work on a project that shows diversity and has a lot of inclusion. Me being a Latina myself, I want to represent that. I want to be in a project that shows all different colors, all different shapes, all different sizes. We’re all human at the end of the day and that’s what I want to portray...that we all come together as one.” she said.


We Can Be Heroes is the first Netflix film to be on the number 1 spot worldwide for 19 days consecutively according to Forbes. It’s no surprise the world wants to see more from this cast and Perez is excited for the sequel which is currently in development. She would like to see a deeper look into each family.

“I want them to go in a little bit deeper with the parents and the kids. A little bit of the background story on the parents and how the kids got the superpowers. Robert is a genius so I trust him and I know whatever he puts on that paper I’m going to love,” she said.



549 views0 comments

© 2019 by ValsPopCultureTalk. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page